Lemon Muffins with Elderflower Glaze

Ok, first off I have to apologize for being completely absent for the past two months… If you follow my instagram you at least got a few pictures here and there, but I have not been able to post anything on the blog for a few different reasons…

FullSizeRender (72)

First, we’ve have basically had a steady stream of visitors from about the middle of May until… well, this morning! Between college friends, high school friends, and family, we have been playing host for quite some time now. But don’t get me wrong, it’s not a bad thing! We absolutely love when people come to visit us and we get to show off where we live.

We’ve also been able to do a few small trips with our visitors, like to Norway for 17 May (their independence day) and up to the family cabin in Dalarna for midsommar (one of the biggest Swedish holidays). Remember when I posted about the cabin in the winter? Looks a bit different in the summer!

FullSizeRender (66)

And then the final reason I have been absent is probably the biggest reason…

In May I found out I was pregnant! With baby due in January, 2018 🙂

FullSizeRender (65)

While this was incredibly happy and exciting news, I did not have even the smallest understanding of how horrible I would feel the coming two months…

Let’s just say that there were a lot of crackers and juice… and couch laying… and buckets near said couch. Just the thought of food often made me reach for that bucket, let alone making food or looking at pictures of food. Once or twice I really did try to get the energy to make something for the blog. But usually if I found a moment of peace to make the dish, it often didn’t last long enough for pictures or a story. So, I posted on instagram when I did have an hour or two in the clear and just hoped with all my heart I wouldn’t feel like this forever…

FullSizeRender (68)

Which came true! I am now 14 weeks and feeling MUCH better. Food actually sounds really good all the time! And one of the strongest cravings I’ve had, even when I wasn’t feeling well, was fruit… there would be one week where I’d eat multiple pears per day…. then the next, multiple nectarines… then oranges… then kiwi. One of the strongest cravings I’ve had has been for citrus in general, so lots of grapefruit, oranges, and even once I was compelled to take a bite of a lemon (I guess pregnancy makes you do weird things!). Which is one of the reasons why when Chris had his turn to bring fika to work, I decided it needed to be lemon muffins. Had I ever made them before? Nope! But they sure sounded delicious…

Then I realized this would be the perfect post for the blog where I can let everyone know our exciting news… because right about now, baby is actually the size of a lemon!

FullSizeRender (70)

So I searched around on the internet, and found multiple lemon cupcake, muffin, and loaf recipes, which I sort of melded into my own. And they turned out great on the first try!

The muffins were moist but still held their shape when bitten into… and the lemon flavor really came through without needing much sweetness. To add a touch of sweetness, I made a quick glaze for the tops (plus it looked pretty!). I decided to use elderflower because it is such a subtle, but delicious flavor, that is really common in Sweden. We even have elderflower growing in our backyard!

FullSizeRender (71)

The muffins were a hit with Chris and all his coworkers, and the tray came home empty… Hope you enjoy them as much as they did!

And if you’re reading this, thanks for sticking with me through my absence :).

Lemon Muffins with Elderflower Glaze

  • Servings: 12 muffins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Although I like the glaze, the muffins actually still tasted pretty good without it, so you can definitely skip that part if you want. In fact, you could also use a different flavor other than edlerflower if you wanted to. Basically, the glaze is the part you can play around with :). Finally, this recipe is mostly adapted from this recipe, although a few others were used for inspiration.

Ingredients

  • 4 tablespoons butter / 50 g smör
  • 1 cup sugar / 2.3dl socker
  • 2 eggs / ägg
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla / vanilj
  • 1½ tablespoons lemon zest / citronskal
  • 1 ½ cups flour / 3.5 dl vetemjöl
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder / bakpulver
  • ¼ cup milk / 0.6 dl mjölk
  • ¼ cup greek yogurt / 0.6dl grekisk yoghurt
  • 1½ tablespoons lemon juice / citron juice
  • 2 tabelspoons elderflower concentrate / fläder saft
  • 1 cup powdered sugar / 2.3dl strösocker

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°F / 190°C
  2. Soften the butter and beat together with the sugar, until light and fluffy.
  3. Beat the eggs into the mixture, followed by the vanilla and lemon zest.
  4. Mix the flour and baking powder together and then gently stir half of it into the wet mixture.
  5. Add the greek yogurt and milk, stirring until combined.
  6. Stir in the rest of the flour mixture, being sure not to overmix.
  7. Add the lemon juice and again, stir until just combined.
  8. Line a muffin tin with liners, then fill with the mixture until about 3/4 full.
  9. Bake in pre-heated oven for about 15 minutes, or until you can stick a toothpick in the middle and come out clean.
  10. Mix the juice and powdered sugar (and a little more lemon zest, if desired) in a bowl, then add water as needed to thin out to desired consistency
  11. Brush glaze onto cooled muffins and wait a few minutes to dry

One thought on “Lemon Muffins with Elderflower Glaze

Leave a Reply

