Four Types of Chokladbollar: Almond, Mint, Regular Coffee, and Dairy-Free Coconut

If you are Swedish, or have spent any time in Sweden, you are sure to know about chokladbollar, or “chocolate balls” in English. I have grown up making and eating chokladbollar since…well, as long as I can remember.

fullsizerender-49

There are a few reasons for this…one is that it’s probably one of the most common Swedish desserts (you can literally find them in any coffee shop)… two, it’s a super easy dessert to make (no baking required!) which is why us kids could make them… and three, well…they are super delicious and a family favorite in our house! Or I should say apartment (this will become more clear as you read on…)

Chokladbollar remind me so much of my childhood and coming to Sweden in the summers. We didn’t make it over every summer, and we really didn’t start coming regularly until my mom started working part-time when I was 11…but the summers we did come, we really made them count!

fullsizerender-45

First of all, when we came to Sweden we would spend the whole summer here… I mean leave the day school got out (or sometimes before) and come back a week or two before school starts. If we were going to pay for a family of four to come to Sweden, we were going to get the most out of it! Of course, the main reason we came to Sweden was to see family, so we had to get the most out of our time with them as well…which meant that our family of four would squeeze into my aunt’s apartment where she had her own family of four. On top of that, my grandma (mormor) was not about to miss out on the fun…even though she only lived a quick 20 minute bus ride away, she always chose to stay at my aunt’s apartment with us too! This meant sleeping arrangements included my aunt and uncle in their room, my mom and dad in one room (well…my dad snores so he was usually in the living room), the four of us cousins in one room, and my mormor in the office. All nine of us in one apartment (with one shower) for a whole summer…sounds like the scene of some sitcom, but this was our reality! But you know what? These were actually some of the best memories of my childhood. It was so fun to wake-up and play with my cousins right away each day, then go for a family walk through the park or go shopping with mormor, and finally come home and make dinner all together. My mom, aunt, and mormor were all really good bakers (might run in my family) so they spent many hours in that kitchen baking up some delicious pie, and laughing together as they worked. It’s a bit hard for me to write about this since so much has changed… both my mom and mormor are no longer here…but the memories are so sweet that they still make my heart happy. (Here’s a picture of me making chokladbollar in my aunt’s kitchen from about 10 years ago).

fullsizerender-43

So making these chokladbollar was a special trip down memory lane…but I knew I couldn’t just put up a recipe for regular chocolate balls…I wanted to make something unique! So I experimented with a few other flavors. The normal chokladbollar have a bit of coffee flavor in them, so in my first experiment I replaced the coffee flavoring with a bit of mint extract. Honestly, I think I like the mint chokladbollar the best…even more than the regular ones (and that’s saying a lot!). I love mint + chocolate combination and this had the perfect balance of the two flavors. To make sure I could keep everything straight, I rolled each chokladbollar in a different ingredient… here I rolled the regular ones in cocoa powder and the mint ones in pearl sugar.

fullsizerender-51

The next flavor I experimented with was almond…I really love marzipan so I added a bit of that into the mix, but it still needed more flavor, which is why I also threw in some almond extract. This recipe took two tries because I learned very quickly that almond extract is STRONG! But in the end I was really happy with the chocolate + almond pairing and thought they turned out pretty cute rolled in finely chopped almonds.

fullsizerender-47

Finally, I had some extra coconut oil laying around and thought it would be nice to try a dairy-free version with coconut flavoring. I had to play around with the ratios a bit, and the texture was a tad different than normal chokladbollar, but after sitting in the fridge for a bit, they turned out perfectly! And of course, I had to roll them in some coconut…

fullsizerender-48

So here are four different recipes for Swedish chokladbollar… an easy, delicious, no-bake and naturally gluten-free dessert that I hope you can enjoy with your loved ones as much as I have.

Four Types of Chokladbollar: Mint, Almond, Coconut, and Regular Coffee

  • Servings: 12-14 balls each
  • Time: 1hr 30min
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

This is actually four separate recipes, but I have put them together since it’s only the ingredients that change…the steps are the same for all four flavors! If you do not have vanilla sugar, you should be able to subtract one teaspoon of water and replace the vanilla sugar with vanilla extract. Also, you can roll the chocolate balls in any ingredient you want…so feel free to mix and match this piece of the recipe. As a side note, my husband thought the cocoa powder was too bitter, but I liked that…so it’s up to you! Finally, you can store extras in the freezer and thaw in the fridge a few hours before eating (I had to do this since I made SO many for this blog post).

Ingredients

    Normal Coffee Flavor:
  • 7 tablespoons room-temperature butter  / 100g smör
  • ⅓ cup sugar / 0.75 dl socker
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla sugar / vaniljsocker
  • 1 teaspoon water / vatten
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder / kakao
  • 1 cup oats / 2.5 dl havre
  • 2 teaspoons prepared liquid coffee / kaffe
  • Extra cocoa powder / kakao for rolling
  • Mint Flavor:
  • 7 tablespoons room-temperature butter / 100g smör
  • ⅓ cup sugar / 0.75 dl socker
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla sugar / vaniljsocker
  • 1 teaspoon water / vatten
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder / kakao
  • 1½ teaspoons peppermint extract / pepparmintsarom
  • 1 cup oats / 2.5 dl havre
  • Pearl sugar / pärlsocker for rolling
  • Coconut Flavor:
  • 6 tablespoons room-temperature coconut oil / kokosolja
  • ⅓ cup sugar / 0.75 dl socker
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla sugar / vaniljsocker
  • 2 teaspoons water / vatten
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder / kakao
  • 1 cup oats / 2.5 dl havre
  • coconut flakes / rivenkokos for rolling 
  • Almond Flavor:
  • 5 ½ tablespoons room-temperature butter / 75g smör
  • 1 ounces almond paste / 25g mandelmassa
  • 3 tablespoons sugar / socker
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla sugar / vaniljsocker
  • 1 ½ teaspoons water / vatten
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder / kakao
  • ¼ teaspoon almond extract / mandelarom
  • 1 cup oats / 2.5 dl havre
  • finely chopped almonds / mandel for rolling

Directions

  1. Mix ingredients together in a large bowl, stirring well until everything is combined (may take a few minutes and some effort)
  2. Chill the dough in the fridge for at least one hour
  3. Roll the dough into golf-ball sized balls and then immediately roll into pearl sugar, coconut, cocoa, almonds or another ingredient of your choice
  4. Eat immediately or store in the fridge for a few days

6 thoughts on “Four Types of Chokladbollar: Almond, Mint, Regular Coffee, and Dairy-Free Coconut

  1. Lynne Buckingham says:

    Oh my goodness – butter, sugar, vanilla, chocolate – what could go wrong?! My husband is Type 1 diabetic, so I will try this with stevia and let you know!

    Lynne

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. Melissa Hennings says:

    I love reading about your family time in Sweden, and so enjoy the pictures of you as a child. I’m so happy that you are able to return to this land of special family memories. 💕As for the yummy recipe, I will definitely need to add more steps to walk or take a couple of extra runs on the ski hill! Perfect hostess gift for a winter party.

    Like

    • halfandhalv says:

      Thank you, it is so fun to write about these memories and experiences, just as much as sharing the recipes :). I agree it would definitely be a cute and easy gift….I also put the extras in the freezer so whenever I have someone over with gluten or diary restrictions, I can pull some out as a quick replacement dessert!

      Like

  3. LeeAnn Lehni says:

    Love this so much…. and amazingly, I think I had these in our house, too. The Swedish recipe memories keep popping up. I recently sent in my DNA… so we’ll see if I’m really half Svede! Love to you and Chris!

    Like

    • halfandhalv says:

      That’s so sweet to hear and I’m glad these recipes are bringing back special memories for you too! That’ll be really interesting to see what your DNA says… but either way we know you’re Swedish at heart :).

      Like

Leave a Reply

