Mom’s Easy Pineapple Pie

Mmm, Swedish Pineapple Pie…wait, what? Swedish + pineapple are not two words you’d think would go together…but it’s true, this is a Swedish recipe for pineapple pie!

fullsizerender-29

To be totally honest, I didn’t realize this was a Swedish recipe until I was visiting my aunt last weekend and told her this was going to be my next blog post. She told me that this is a classic Swedish pie (although younger people might not know it as well). It’s another instance in my life of when I thought my family had something unique, but it turned out just to be something Swedish (remind me to tell you about how I thought my family invented the idea of Saturday candy / lördags godis). Anyways, I’ve decided to label this recipe “Swedish” and “Fusion” because although it’s a Swedish recipe, it sure does have American flavors!

This is a recipe I have been so excited to share because (1) it’s my mom’s recipe and she was the best baker and (2) it’s the easiest and most DELICIOUS pie ever. Seriously, everytime I bring this pie to a party, I get multiple people asking me for the recipe (I remember this always happened to my mom when I was younger, too).

fullsizerender-28

The reason I decided to make this pie as my next recipe really comes down to the fact that I had some creme fraiche left over in the fridge from when I made pumpkin soup. Since moving to Sweden, I have become so much more thrifty with using up leftovers because one of the shocks about living here is how expensive certain foods are.

Let me start by telling a story about bananas… Back in the U.S., bananas are one of the cheapest foods you can buy… and since I love bananas (with peanut butter, caramelized on top of oatmeal, in pancakes, or just plain) I would always buy a bunch of bananas when I went to the store. If they went bad, oh well, just put them in banana bread! Well, since this was my grocery shopping habit, I of course continued this tradition here in Sweden. That is until Chris pointed out that we were paying 22sek/kg (about $1.50 per pound) for these bananas…that’s like 3 times as much as the U.S.! Needless to say, I am now more thoughtful about my banana-buying…which I actually think is a good thing…to be more thoughtful about what foods you buy. There have been a few other foods that gave me sticker-shock, like limes, which are $1.50 each… or rib eye steak for $35 per pound! Some products are reasonably priced, like milk, eggs, flour, and other essential ingredients, but overall I find myself looking more carefully at prices in the store and being more creative about the ingredients I use… which is why this creme fraiche was not going to waste!

Another fun thing to share about the grocery stores in Sweden is the “American Section” where you can find all things American… or at least what Swedes must imagine Americans eat all the time…

fullsizerender-31

BBQ sauce, mac n’ cheese, pancakes, jell-o, Hershey’s syrup, Poptarts (in oreo flavor, oddly enough), Crisco, and a range of candies from Nerds to Butterfingers. The best was at our old grocery store in Karlaplan, the American Section had an entire shelf of beef jerky! When I discovered this, I probably looked ridiculous as I laughed to myself and took pictures for Facebook. At least my American friends on Facebook found it just as hilarious!

In general the grocery shopping experience is pretty different in Sweden, which is why I always get a bit of “reverse-culture shock” when we visit Seattle and go to a grocery store. Last time I was home, I could not believe how incredibly gigantic the store was (and trust me, it was not Costco, just a local QFC). It was also a bit embarrassing when I started to bag the groceries myself (which is what you do in Sweden) earning me an odd look from the cashier. Within a few days I was back to a normal, American grocery-shopper as I filled up my cart with corn tortillas, Annie’s mac n’ cheese, and apple-flavored candy to haul back to Sweden with us.

Ok, enough about grocery stores (it’s making me wish I had some American apple candy right now), let’s get on to this pineapple pie recipe. One change I made to my mom’s original recipe is making the pineapple-shaped decoration on top… I think it looks pretty cute, right? In my recipe I’ll include how to make it with the decoration, but also a note about how to make it without… it’s up to you! You could even get creative and turn the dough into any decoration you’d like…

fullsizerender-25

And without further ado… mom’s pineapple pie recipe!

Mom's Easy Pineapple Pie

  • Servings: one 10-inch / 26 cm pie
  • Time: 1hr 40 min
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

You can also make this pie without the pineapple dough decoration on top. To make it without decoration, change the dough ingredients to: 10 tbsp butter / 150g smör; ½ cup sugar / 1 dl socker; 1½ cups flour / 3 dl vetemjöl; and 1 tsp baking powder / bakpulver.  You can store this pie in the fridge for a day or two, or I’ve actually frozen it (baked) to eat later! Just cover tightly in foil before putting in the freezer, then let it defrost in the fridge one day before serving.

Ingredients

    Dough:
  • 16 tablespoons melted butter / 225g smält smör
  • ½ + ⅛ cup sugar / 1.5 dl socker
  • 2 cups flour / 4.5 dl vetemjöl
  • 1½ teaspoons baking powder / bakpulver
  • Filling:
  • 1 cup creme fraiche / 2 dl creme fraiche
  • ½ cup sugar / 1 dl socker
  • 2 cups crushed pineapple / 4.5 dl krossade ananas
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla sugar (or extract) / vaniljsocker

Directions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 400° F / 200° C
  2. Mix the dough ingredients together in a large bowl (melted butter, sugar, flour, and baking powder) stirring until completely mixed
  3. Take about a third of the dough, wrap it in plastic, and set in the freezer for a few minutes while making the rest of the pie (if you are making it without the pineapple decoration on top, you can skip this step – see notes)
  4. Push the remaining dough mixture into the bottom of a 10 inch / 26 cm pie dish
  5.  Drain the pineapple well, then mix together with other filling ingredients (creme fraiche, sugar, and vanilla) in another bowl
  6. Pour filling into the pie dish, making sure it does not come up above the edge of the dough
  7. Take out the extra dough from the freezer and roll out on a floured surface
  8. Using a small knife, cut out the pineapple shape, separating the base of the pineapple and the leafy top (this makes it easier to transport)
  9. Using a spatula, carefully transfer the dough cut-outs, one at a time, on to the top of the pie
  10. Bake for 25 minutes
  11. As soon as the pie comes out the oven, you can use a small knife to make little “v” marks on the pineapple decoration, to give it texture (optional)
  12. Once the pie has cooled slightly, place in the fridge for at least an hour – then serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

